I’ve been reading the Stratejoy blog run by Molly for a while. She runs a fantastic website and company aimed at helping 20 somethings navigate through their quarterlife crises….of which I so bravely and yet terrifyingly admit I am also going through.

She is running a contest right now to win a fantastic bundle of goodies from her by answer some questions she herself answered on the Stratejoy blog (linked to above). I wanted to answer the same questions here mostly for therapy, but also because I want a chance to win some awesome stuff! Feel free to enter her contest via Facebook (page: here) or by following my example and making your own blog post about it!

Here goes:

What do you miss most about being a child?

Besides the obvious Rainbow Brite obsession (I still have the dolls!), I miss being able to just walk out the front door and go to a neighbor’s house and ask if one of my friends can play. You know? Just hope on my bike, or BIG WHEEL (hells yeah) and just stay out all evening playing and not thinking about homework or school.

2.  What’s on your bedside table?

3 books (always changing), Kindle 2, iPhone 4, a glass of water, and a container of L’Occitane’s Creme Mains. Also a lamp, but duh!

When was the last time you were giddy with happiness, lost in one of those can’t-hold-back-a-smile kinda moments?

Last night actually! I love and have loved Ancient Egypt since I was a little girl, and I was watching a show on NatGeo about the lost pyramid last night and I kid you not I was trying to fill in the narrator’s sentences before they got to the next thought. I like to think I was showing off on my smarts except nobody but the dog was listening. I think she was still impressed. I giggled with how much just came back to me naturally in the way of knowledge about Egypt’s 4th dynasty. NERD!

What are you most looking forward to in the next 6 months?

I’m really looking forward to finding a new job. Whether that means finding somewhere to work or starting my own business. The latter would be more ideal but I realize that it may not happen that fast, though I’d love to have an idea going in 6 months.

I’m also in the middle of gaining two certifications to be a Web Designer and a Web Programmer and I’m looking forward to completing those in the next 6 months and hopefully either contracting work in that or finding an entry-level job.

What’s your hell like?

Everything smells like artificially flavored grape Dimetapp. Seriously? That stuff kills. There are also sharp point things everywhere because I am deathly afraid of having my eye poked. Don’t ask why, it’s a long story.

What’s your heaven like?

Serene and green and lush with lots of singing birds and a nice comfy mediation chair.

What’s the biggest lesson you’re taking away from the past 6 months with Stratejoy?

That your life can change in the blink of an eye, but that it’s important to stay grounded and be at peace with yourself. If you do, you can weather any storm.

What song lyrics fit your life, right now, at the beginning of this brand new year?

“so kick off your shoes and relax your feet
they say that miracles are never seizing
and every single soul needs a little releasing”

–The Sound of Sunshine, Michael Franti and Spearhead

If you had a time machine, what place and time would you travel to and why?

I would definitely go back to the Victorian era and wear lots of pretty dresses and fabulous hats. Why? I don’t really have one reason exactly, maybe I grew up on too much Jane Austen and lived my life as if I was in Pride and Prejudice, but I just feel like I was born to be in that era or something. Or at least AROUND that time period. I feel very old-fashioned sometimes but also very modern?

What is something that not a lot of people know about you that you wish more people could know?

HOW much…I love Mickey Mouse. Or anything else Disney. I am super crazy about it all. I tear up when I talk about how much I love Disney stuff. It’s stupid and silly and AH I love it!

What surprised you the most about 2010?

That it went by so fast in such an uneventful way.

What’s the best present you’ve ever received?

Life!

Imagine your life was being made into a movie. What would the title be? Who would you pick to play you? What would the theme song be? How about the little trailer blurb for the advertisement?

I gotta be honest here, I’m not really sure that I’d want my life made into a movie. Unless I did something super cool, but where I’m at now….I don’t really have an answer to this question because I wouldn’t want my life like this as a movie. I’d totally walk out in the  middle of that movie!

Dream Job? Dream Home? Dream Vacation?

Dream Job in my reality:  Ancient Egyptian hall Curator at the Field Museum in Chicago. Or…travelling exhibiton Curator.

Dream Job outside of my reality: I would love to run the Cairo Museum. I also would love my own television show where I try all different kinds of jobs and fun things and report back on it because I can’t ever seem to commit to one thing, so I’d like to do them all!

Dream Home:  Um, I would LOVE to live in a little bungalow on an island in the middle of nowhere completely at peace in not having a HUGE home to look after.

Dream Vacation:  I want to go to Tonga and swim with the whales.

